Tags

, ,

921157_10151652401367209_415021164_o

A skincare buzzkill?

Burt’s Bees used to appeal to me for its spotlight on all things natural.  After all, who doesn’t love a good old guilt free cleanser?!  The packaging always had me hook, line and sinker and my attraction hailed in the days before I used to dissect the ingredients of products for any mineral oils and other such nasties.  Thanks, Caroline Hirons.

So after the huge brand hype a few years ago, would I still be drawn to buying products now?  Well, the long and short of it is: No.  Dont get me wrong, I can’t deny that the products smell incredible and almost edible (don’t try this at home, kids!) however, the results are just disappointing.  I honestly feel with so many brands offering the same all natural idea, you can get a lot more bang for your buck elsewhere.

My skin has been quite well-behaved of late, so I was feeling quite rebellious.  I decided to throw caution to the wind and give the Orange Essence Facial Cleanser one last chance. I was really gunning for it, hoping the steer of this blog post would be different and I’d be singing its praises.  However, a week after using this my skin turned angry and was left with what can only be described as Sahara-dry, stinging patches of soreness.  Not pretty. Maybe it was a combination of using it with other brands, I don’t know but it’s put me off for an eternity.

Dont get me wrong,  I’m not going to judge the whole brand based solely on the cleanser.  Like I always say, just because a product doesn’t work on me, doesn’t mean it won’t work on you either.  In theory, I should love it.  Sulphate free without any artificial nasties, it was just unfortunate that my skin decided it wanted to create its very own game of dot to dot and break me out like no other.

I used to have the Beeswax and Banana hand cream proudly displayed on my desk at work.  I think the pull of the packaging won hands down over performance on this one.  Until I played around with hand creams a little, I subjected my mitts to a grease fest of the banana variety.  I was forever mis-keying as my fingers were so greasy they felt like a surfboard not good.

The moral of the story is:  Try to resist the pull of packaging.  Do your research first.  I’ve had these for a few years and I learnt my lesson a while ago but it can be easy to be persuaded by the hype of a product that may not be necessarily good for you!

Have you tried any of Burt’s Bees products?  What did you think?

