Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

249034_10151633804127209_673169608_n

My Spring Essentials!

For a while now, I’ve had people ask me which items of makeup are in my everyday makeup bag.  Every girl knows that these items change with the season, your makeup bag should be a chameleon; adapting to Summer shades and Autumnal hues depending on your personal preferences.

Not all of my makeup is in my makeup bag.  Most of it is in a set of drawers, hibernating for when I need it.  I’m a bit of a sucker for makeup and tend to go crazy in Selfridges.  I’m like a makeup Magpie, if it catches my eye, its going home with me! After all, isn’t it a woman’s prerogative to want to look good?  So, to start with is my makeup bag itself.  I have a Marc Jacobs makeup bag which I think is super cool.  With monochrome graphics inside and a bright pink exterior, I wouldn’t want my makeup to live anywhere else; would you?

54812_10151305175037209_2078558348_o

Firstly I have NARS Sheer Glow foundation.  This is the elixir of all things beautiful.  Such an indulgence that is justified by how little of the product you actually need.  It glides onto the skin effortlessly leaving a flawless base with a brilliant dewy finish.  I always keep MAC Prep & Prime translucent powder in there, just in case the weather is anything over 10 degrees (British Summer!) to keep the foundation from becoming too dewy and adopting the Edward Cullen glisten!  Plus it keeps everything in place without it feeling like you’re wearing too much product.

I haven’t been blessed with super long lashes so I have to fake what my mama gave me.  To do this, I always curl with Lancome lash curlers and apply a thick layer of MAC Zoom Lash mascara.  I have a personal hatred for the plastic NOT fantastic mascara wands and the zoom lash still have a bristle brush which makes me happy all round!  I love MAC eyeshadow in ‘Yoghurt’ and ‘Satin Taupe’ for the perfect everyday lid and crease colours and since being a teenager, I’ve always had a cat eye liner flick.  To achieve this I use a Louise Young liner brush and MAC ‘Blacktrack’ Fluidline which is perfect for an easy to apply, truly opaque black liner.

Through the week, I don’t tend to wear a lot of make up so I make sure my complexion, at least, looks flawless.  My job can sometimes leave me really tired and the first place this shows is around my eye area.  With the much-needed help of Bobbi Brown corrector in ‘extra light bisque’ any blue undertones are neutralised and concealed with MAC Select Moisturecover concealer in NC25.

I have a few powder products that have been switched up for the new season and have replaced some others that have gone back into the drawers for the Winter period.  Some new additions are Chanel Les Beiges powder which I LOVE which goes perfectly with MAC Mineralize blush in ‘Warm Soul’.  They work perfectly in synch and after the Winter months have left my skin pale and uninteresting, they give a subtle glow and warmth ready for the warm injection of weather, as promised be the weather man!  I can’t live without the Chanel ‘Bronze universel’ cream bronzer but I can’t keep that in my makeup bag as it’s too big!

I tend to alternate between blushes depending on my mood and for that reason I keep a couple on rotation in my makeup bag.  My all time favourite is NARS ‘orgasm’ which is a neon coral with flecks of gold glitter and I love to wear this when the weather is warmer! I also love MAC ‘Dollymix’ for a more intense blush and for days when I don’t really want to make as much of a statement, I opt for MAC Cream Blush in ‘So Sweet, So Easy’, accented beautifully with Illamasqua Gleam in ‘Aurora’.

When the weather heats up, more often than not, I swap lipsticks for a gloss.  On days where I need to get out of the door quickly, I pop on Bobbi Brown clear gloss which I love because It’s not overly sticky.  Mostly I just pop a little bit of Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream on to moisturise my lips and for days where they need a little bit of exfoliation, Lush Lip Scrub in ‘Bubblegum’ is not only delicious but perfect for preparing the lips before applying any colour.  I’ve not photographed it but Topshop lipstick in ‘Innocent’ is my current daily lipstick and as it has a gorgeous blue undertone, so it’s ideal for those who have a paler complexion.

Lastly, my brow products.  For years I’ve used Bobbi Brown brow kit with a MAC 266 using the shadow in shade ‘Sable’.  It’s the perfect matte brown and Winter or Summer, I won’t use anything else.  Recently however, I’ve discovered the Face Stockholm Brow Fix which is a tinted brown gel that sets the brows into shape perfectly and it hasn’t left my makeup bag since I discovered it!

