Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

michael-van-der-ham-aw12-london-fashion-week

Winter Warmers….

For me, my winter wardrobe is like a dressing up box.  You can layer almost anything and still create something that screams cool, even if it does teeter a little on the bulky side!  England is cold, after all!  Winter seasons tend to see designers losing some of their creative flair as bland colours are often favoured over the more vibrant hues of Summer.  This shouldn’t be the case.

I’m a little tired of wearing muted tones so here’s a pick of some of this seasons colourful pieces I’ll be taking inspiration from.  Charlotte Olympia always delivers in the quirky stakes, from her Russian doll inspired stiletto’s of the Summer or her jingle bell beauties that are certain to have people talking this Party Season.  Her Christmas pudding flats may not be to everybody’s taste but I’m riding that bandwagon because I shamelessly love everything Charlotte Olympia & Christmas!

401598_10151355829857209_1885427828_n

The Olsen Twins for me epitomise modern-day grunge and it’s a trend I’ve dug my claws into for the past couple of seasons.  Its edgy and open to personal interpretation and what I love about The Row is that it mixes grunge with elegance with perfect antithesis.  You’re less likely to look like Kurt Cobain but more like one of the Olsen’s themselves.  Layer this little Acne beauty of The Row’s Bani dress & you’ll be bringing the colour blocking trend all the way to Winter.

9646_10151355836327209_92708445_n

Winter is all about the accessory.  Whether it be in the shape of a scarf or a fierce pair of boots you can be as create as your heart contents.  For me, it’s all about the hats.  I don’t have the head for hats but that doesn’t phase me!  I’m loving Lanvin’s Pom Pom beanies and make the grunge trend teeter on the cute.  Two words I’d never put together but make a perfect partnership; don’t you agree?

704553_10151355840747209_461914087_o

Knitwear is a Winter time staple, be it your favourite Christmas jumper (c’mon, we all have one!) or your trusty Aran jumper.  I’m going for bold this year and I’ve fallen head over heels for Meadham Kirchhoff’s Maria bauble sweater!  It’s the perfect Christmas Day treat and will certainly have you filled with festive joy!  I love this almost as much as the Hibiscus Monster coats seen earlier this year.  Quirky on a whole other level. If the whole ‘Christmas Jumper Club’ isn’t one you want to be a member of, Marc Jacobs has a collection enough to give a subtle but cooler nod to the trend.

9196_10151355845122209_161692742_n

Whatever your choices this season, make sure to make them bold, you’ll sure to be noticed!

