Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spring has sprung…

I’ve been glued to this year’s shows.  Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week, New York has seen some of the most innovative collections from fashion houses; innovation on a complete new level in comparison to previous seasons.

  The stand out show for me so far has to be BCBGMAXAZRIA for challenging the normal colour palette typical to a S/S collection and offering muted hues of black and white to create a visually beautiful display of lace and leather. Every look had me screaming ‘YES!’ in a fashion frenzy. If you haven’t seen the show, have a look at the link below, you’ll fall in love, believe me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I43YIPR7QXQ&list=PLj57uJBedZRnGgvaCsUbtaVQskWASoRT2&index=5&feature=plcp

Richard Chai’s SS13 collection promised the return of the pastel trend, something that has really held its own this year.  You really can’t go wrong with a pastel palette and Richard Chai’s show proved that.  Sleek hair and light make up are set to make an appearance too which is always a good thing, especially if your hair is like mine and panics at the first sign of volume!

One show that had me divided has to be Kaelen’s SS13 collection.  Some pieces had me in creative heaven, simple designs that stood true to the brand, however,  I got a little confused and lost interest at some of the questionable pattern clashes.  There is a fine line between a good clash and a bad clash and I’m torn between which side of the scale some of the pieces fall into.  Definitely sat on the fence, I’m afraid!

Timo Weiland & DVF two shows, one word: LOVE. Plus love them or hate them, Nicholas K’s oversized eyewear are a must have for the girl who loves to be edgy and on trend and i’m most certainly a fan.

Mara Hoffmans collection: WOW.  Literally every piece is wearable and the colour palette will make you want to pack your bags and fly away to a tropical destination.  Everything from the shoes to the accessories to the make up had me in fashion awe.  A collection that is definitely for the quirky girl.  With 3 days left I’m so excited to see what else the fashion world has to offer.

